

Media Release FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE October 21, 2020

LaGrange Youth Council Elects 2020-2021 Officers, Issues

LaGrange, Ga. October 21, 2020 – The City of LaGrange elected its officers for the 2020-2021 school year Tuesday (10/20) evening. The 24-member board also voted on their two main issues for the year.



2020-2021 LaGrange Youth Council with the Mayor and City Council Pictured from left to right, LaGrange Youth Council Secretary Katy Beth Bedingfield, Vice-Chairperson Caroline Shelton, Chairperson Zoie Mitchell & Historian Mary Frances Smith. The new officers include Chairperson Zoie Mitchell (LaGrange Academy Senior), Vice-Chairperson Caroline Shelton (LaGrange High School Senior), Historian Mary Frances Smith (Springwood School Senior) and Secretary Katy Beth Bedingfield (LaGrange High School Junior).

The council will focus their efforts on mental health awareness and mentoring others in the coming year.

The LaGrange Youth Council is an advisory board composed of local youth that provide advice and counsel to the local governing body. The Youth Council gives our local youth a more formal role in the local decision making process offering real world experiences with elected bodies.





Pictured from left to right, 3rd row: Mayor Pro Tem Nathan Gaskin, Councilman Tom Gore, Councilman Mark Mitchell, Mayor Jim Thornton, Councilman LeGree McCamey, Councilman Jim Arrington & Councilman Willie T. Edmondson. 2nd row: LYC members Louise Dodson, Ella Eiland, Katy Beth Bedingfield, Jamal Jones, Elijah Langston, Ka'Various Perry, Tripp Hollstrom, Milly Criswell & William Pitts. 1st row: Caroline Shelton, Mary Frances Smith, Miller DeVane, Kate Asbell, Sydney Edelson, Kannon Key, Khamani Philpotts, Riley Whitlow, Zoie Mitchell & Eileen Hwang. Not pictured: Lauren Hale, Hamilton Bedingfield, MacKenzie Mitchell, Mollie Olinger & Addie Eiland. Twenty-four students from LaGrange High, Troup High, LaGrange Academy, Springwood School and Thinc Academy are participating in the LaGrange Youth Council for the 2020-2021 school year. Members include Kate Asbell, Hamilton Bedingfield, Katy Beth Bedingfield, Milly Criswell, Miller DeVane, Louise Dodson, Sydney Edelson, Addie Eiland, Ella Eiland, Lauren Hale, Tripp Hollstrom, Eileen Hwang, Jamal Jones, Kannon Key, Elijah Langston, MacKenzie Mitchell, Zoie Mitchell, Mollie Olinger, Ka'Various Perry, Khamani Philpotts, William Pitts, Caroline Shelton, Mary Frances Smith & Riley Whitlow.

Members are required to participate in one of the city's "Leaving LaGrange Better Than We Found It" litter cleanups during the year or attend a LaGrange City Council meeting.

For more information on the LaGrange Youth Council go to lagrangega.org/Home/Youth_Council.

Media Contact: Katie Mercer Van Schoor, City of LaGrange Marketing/Communications Manager, (706) 883-2055 or kvanschoor@lagrangega.org

To keep up with the latest news involving the City of LaGrange, go to <u>www.lagrangega.org</u> or follow us on Facebook at facebook.com/lagrangegagov, Twitter at @lagrangegagov, & Instagram at instagram.com/cityoflagrangega.

###